top of page

Review: Ant-Man and the Wasp



After being left on one of the biggest cliffhangers of recent years in film, the MCU has now given us another installment in the form of Ant-Man and the Wasp!

The movie picks up after the events of Captain America; Civil War, as Scott is stuck on house arrest. This obviously leads to quite a lot of problems when he is called back into action as Hank Pym begins the final step to pulling his wife out of the quantum realm.

So let's talk about some positives! I will always support Paul Rudd because I just think he is incredibly entertaining and this is proved once again in the Ant-Man sequel. He is consistently funny and believable as this lovable underdog. Along with Rudd, this film had another one of my favorite parts of the first. Luis is GREAT! He is easily one of my favorite side-characters of the cinematic universe. In fact, if Marvel decided to make a standalone movie revolving solely around a Luis adventure, I would be the very first person in line at the theater on opening night!

Now, let's get to the downsides. First off, the romance between Scott and Hope just flat-lined in this movie. It felt pretty forced and almost awkward in the film. Almost like somebody on set had to yell, "don't forget to show some love!" every couple days. Next, my bigger issue. which is the absolutely awful villain. Ghost was a relatively pathetic plot point used to push along the hero's journey (sounds like most Marvel villains? Well it's like that but way worse.) Unfortunately, this villain issue is something that I could not look past. It took me out of the film and I just could not get on board with it. A smaller issue was the use the Jimmy Woo character. They took a respectable position in the FBI, and made him a clown. This was a very strange choice that resulted in a character that I just could not believe.

Overall, I enjoyed the film. It had a great sense of humor with a talented cast and most importantly, it had MORE LUIS! If you are a fan of the MCU then I would suggest seeing the film but there is no rush. It is certainly good for several laughs and a serviceable plot.

'

I give Ant-Man and the Wasp a 7/10

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page