top of page

Best Picture Predictions 2019



Well, today is the big day! In all of the weird things surrounding the Oscars this year, we still have time to speculate on which film will be taking home the award to Best Picture. I have tried my best to catch each nominee, but I unfortunately missed two of them. However, I will still include them in my probability ranking based on my speculation. First, I'd like to talk briefly about each of the films.


Bohemian Rhapsody

One of my favorite movies of the year, Bohemian Rhapsody was an excellent and fun film. It applied the incredible music of Queen to the story of Freddie Mercury, helping to tell his deep story. I would love to see this movie receive high accolades tonight, but I do not believe that it will be able to take home Best Picture.


Black Panther

Black Panther was Yet another excellent addition to the great MCU. While not being my favorite comic book movie of the year, it was still very good. It was a big accomplishment for this movie to be nominated alone. I think it has little to no chance of winning Best Picture.


The Favourite

It is no secret after my review of this film that I absolutely hate it. I feel that if this film were to win Best Picture, it would be perfectly in line with the already disastrous path of the 2019 Oscars. Yes, the performances deserve attention, but by no means does the film deserve to win Best Picture.


BlacKkKlansman

This is a film that I REALLY enjoyed and I hope to see it receive great praise tonight. Unfortunately, I do not think that it has enough attention to take home the Best Picture, despite the high quality and great performances.


A Star is Born

This is a movie that really struck an emotional cord for me. Yes, it is a story that we have all seen before, but it still came together very well with the two lead characters and the amazing music that I still listen to every chance I get. I think there is a low chance of it winning but I would be happy if it could take home the statue.


Green Book

This is easily my top choice going into the Oscars. I absolutely adored the film. The performances combined with the fantastic story made for an incredibly well crafted movie. Mahershala Ali and Viggo Mortensen should DEFINITELY receive praise for their performances and I hope that the movie can win Best Picture.


Vice

This is one of the two that I unfortunately did not catch this year, but based on other reviews and the seemingly majority opinion, I do not expect Vice to be winning Best Picture at the Oscars this year.


Roma

Roma is the second of the two films that I have missed. Hopefully I will be able to find the time before the Oscars tonight to give it a watch but based on everything that I have read, it sounds like Roma is a pretty safe bet for Best Picture this year.

For my full reviews, you can click the poster beside each movie. Based on what I have read and my own personal opinions, this is how I would rank the chances of these movies tonight.

1. Green Book

2. Roma

3. A Star is Born

4. BlacKkKlansman

5. Bohemian Rhapsody

6. Black Panther

7. The Favourite

8. Vice


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page