top of page

Review: Bohemian Rhapsody



The incredible story of the legendary band, Queen, let’s talk about Bohemian Rhapsody. In a year with the great, A Star is Born, and the upcoming Mary Poppins, this musical event stands out as a rocking event. It follows the trials and tribulations of Freddie Mercury and the formation of Queen. It takes a look at the personal struggles that come for a very unique star paving his way to fame.

So what did I like about it? First and foremost, the music in the film was obviously amazing. I am admittedly a big fan of the band already, but the way that the music was used to tell the story and transition throughout the movie was very well done. Another big positive for me was the performance of Rami Malek. He managed to capture the flamboyant and unique personality of the rock icon in a great performance. My last huge praise for this film was the pacing. For a long movie, it flew by! It takes great editing to make a 2 hour and 14 minute movie feel so well paced, and this movie nailed it.

Now for some complaints. The only thing that I have as a problem in this flick is that I wanted more development for the rest of the band. I know that Freddie Mercury is generally the main character in the movie, but I felt that the other members of Queen were also very compelling. I would have liked to see more development in the band relationships and dynamics.

Overall, there is not much that I didn’t like about Bohemian Rhapsody. It was a very fun ride with a solid story, capped off with the legendary music that helped tell the tale of the great Freddie Mercury.

I give Bohemian Rhapsody a 7.7/10

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page