top of page

Review: Black Panther



Marvel's newest addition to their arsenal of comic book movies, 'Black Panther' is being praised as one of the best!

First off, every performance was great! I loved Chadwick Boseman's performance as T'Challa. Watching him adapt and grow as he takes on the role of a king creates plenty of emotional moments. I also have to mention how great Michael B. Jordan was in this movie. I fully expected the usual Marvel villain; a relatively flat plot point used only to move along the story of the hero. Killmonger was so much more! His character's story felt perfectly woven into the plot. I still stand by Loki as the best Marvel villain but I certainly cannot deny Killmonger as one of the best.

However, I think the movie has been a little over hyped. I would certainly place this in the top half of the Marvel installments that we have seen up to this point, but not much higher than that. Black Panther opened many doors for the MCU going forward. I am very excited to see how these new, interesting characters will fit in with my other favorite heroes.

Overall, I think it is a movie that is certainly worth seeing in theaters. It proves that Ryan Coogler is one of the best directors in the business, and it contains a very good origin story with all-around excellent performances. I cannot wait to see more from these characters in 'Avengers: Infinity War'.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page